Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

The Used Announce New Album; Release New Video

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Melody Bot, Sep 7, 2017.

  1. Melody Bot

    Your friendly little forum bot. Staff Member

    This article has been imported from for discussion. All of the forum rules still apply.

    The Used will release their new album, The Canyon, on October 27th. Today they released a video for “Over and Over Again.” Pre-orders are now up.

    Track Listing

    1. For You
    2. Cold War Telescreen
    3. Broken Windows
    4. Rise Up Lights
    5. Vertigo Cave
    6. Pretty Picture
    7. Funeral Post
    8. Upper Falls
    9. The Divine Absence (This Is Water)
    10. Selfies In Aleppo
    11. Moving The Mountain (Odysseus Surrenders)
    12. Over and Over Again
    13. The Quiet War
    14. Moon-Dream
    15. The Nexus
    16. About You (No Songs Left to Sing)
    17. The Mouth Of The Canyon

  2. Dog Fish


    a banjo?
  3. thenewmatthewperry

    performative angry black man Prestigious

    I really dig the vocal production on this track
  4. golferpunk1


    Really? Sounds muffled to me.
    bmir14 likes this.
  5. bmir14


    Catchy song. 17 songs and first song released is placed at #12. Interesting.
    DejaMoi likes this.
  6. John Zafran

    As If Everything Was Held In Place

    this is pretty awsome
  7. thenewmatthewperry

    performative angry black man Prestigious

    I'm listening with headphones plugged into my computer and it sounds great.
    the drums are definitely more in the background though.
  8. Matt Chylak

    I can always be better, so I'll always try. Supporter

    So how many albums does this band have now?
  9. Matt504

    Trusted Prestigious

    Would love to hear @Jason Tate thoughts on this one? It's catching me off guard for sure. Not what I expected from this band with Justin now the main guitarist...
    smowashere likes this.
  10. Haven't listened yet, plan to in a bit.
    smowashere likes this.
  11. sawhney[rusted]2

    I'll write you into all of my songs Supporter


    Interesting line they're drawing here lol


    IDK bout this. :-/
  13. Jackbo487


    I thought the song/video were pretty good, and I'm not a really devoted fan of the band...
  14. disambigujason

    Trusted Supporter

    guitar is infectious

    also the vinyl looks really cool
  15. The bass and guitars are fantastic in this song. Reminds me a lot of The Ocean of the Sky EP which is super good. This song is better than basically every song off their last album for sure.
    clockwise likes this.
  16. John Zafran

    As If Everything Was Held In Place

    "As a press release explains, the band recorded the entire LP to tape "as if they were on stage, without a backing track," resulting in a process that was "unique and unlike anything the band has done before"

    explains a lot
  17. Colin Your Enthusiasm

    It's nobody's battle but your own. Prestigious

    Holy crap 17 tracks that's risky and very surprising. Hope its not quantity over quality. Have yet to listen to this track. The comments have me curious. Haven't really enjoy anything they have done since Artwork.
  18. slimfenix182


    That was the direction I wanted them to keep going in, last album was disappointing as a whole.

    I think I already don't miss Quinn based on this one song, not that this is better than their first two albums. But like this a lot.
    Christian Romero likes this.
  19. shawnhyphenray


    I actually really like this song!

    And awesome long track list
  20. smowashere

    Trusted Supporter

    Woah! This was a shock. Def haven't listened to The Used in a long time, but I'm digging this!
  21. sukottokairu


    this has my attention, 17 songs is quite a shock but i'm really interested to hear this song in the context of the album. it's got a poppy feel but doesn't feel like they are "selling out" as many of the angry youtube/facebook comments are claiming. this sounds much more interesting than their last album. really curious to hear if they experimented a lot on the other tracks, hoping we get a big variety of songs, but also as someone else said, hope its not quantity over quality. i loved vulnerable but not a big fan of imaginary enemy. seems like they are going to take the feel of imaginary enemy but experiment with it, which i'm interested in hearing.
    js977 likes this.
  22. Damien Davies

    One more time Supporter

    I really like this.
  23. pianostuff


    I'm surprised the used are getting any positive response here. I need to listen to it without the video, because the videos aesthetic is really throwing me off. I'll always give a used record an honest listen.
    Christian Romero likes this.
  24. j0nnymarrzbar


    Song is decent. Really dig the guitar in this.
    js977 likes this.
  25. tshreve


    this is such a fucking good song. holy riff batman