Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Teachers/Educators Thread

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Matt Metzler, Mar 31, 2016.

1. Matt Metzler

Space Cadet Prestigious

I seem to remember a thread for teachers on AP, although I don't think I was ever very active in it.

I went to college to become a high school English teacher but by the time I got to my senior year, I was so dissatisfied and discouraged by my field experiences and the standards that I was expected to teach to that I all but decided I was never going to be a teacher (I even opted out of my student teaching, meaning I'd still get my degree but I wouldn't get a teaching certification).

Then I graduated and stumbled upon this Montessori school in the same town where I went to college and it totally changed the trajectory of my life. I worked there part-time last year and am almost done with my first full-time year now. I teach in a classroom of 1st through 3rd graders, and they bring me so much joy on a daily basis that I can't imagine doing anything else for a living.

I've also been doing a lot of reading lately on unschooling, which I think is pretty much the coolest thing a parent could do for their child. Recommended books if you're interested in learning more about it are The Teenage Liberation Handbook and Home Grown: Adventures in Parenting off the Beaten Path, Unschooling, and Reconnecting with the Natural World.

Anyone else here a teacher? If so, what do you teach and how long have you been doing it?

2. YoSoyCaitlin

Newbie Prestigious

Hollaaaa. I'm in my 5th year of teaching secondary Spanish, currently only 8th grade (170 of them to be exact...)

I call it my double life

Collin Skeen likes this.
  3. mgiannotti

edge mike Supporter