Slipknot Announce New Album

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Melody Bot, May 16, 2019.

  1. Melody Bot

    Your friendly little forum bot. Staff Member

    This article has been imported from for discussion. All of the forum rules still apply.

    Slipknot will release their new album, We are Not Your Kind, on August 9th. The full press release can be found below.

    SLIPKNOT has announced details of their long-awaited sixth LP, WE ARE NOT YOUR KIND, which will be released August 9th on Roadrunner Records (album art / track listing below). Today the band has shared the album’s first single “Unsainted,” which is available at all DSPs along with an official music video streaming on Slipknot’s YouTube channel. Directed by the band’s own M. Shawn Crahan, the “Unsainted” video, and the track itself, offer a glimpse at the future of one of rock’s most popular, and deeply enigmatic bands.
    Guitarist Jim Root noted, “This is most time we’ve had to write a record, and work stuff out together. One of my inspirations this time around was those artists that recorded full length albums – not just songs. While the industry is moving toward singles, Slipknot wanted to make an album experience, front to back.”

    Named by Vulture as on one of “36 Albums We Can’t Wait to Hear in 2019,” SLIPKNOT’s WE ARE NOT YOUR KIND is available for pre-order today with exclusive bundles available at Produced by SLIPKNOT and Greg Fidelman, WE ARE NOT YOUR KIND follows the band’s blistering 2014 LP, .5: THE GRAY CHAPTER, which debuted Top 5 in the official album charts of 19 countries around the world, including the U.S. (#1), Japan (#1), Australia (#1), Russia (#1), U.K. (#2) & Germany (#2).

    “These days the art we are making comes with the highest reward, because it’s taken the most time,” added Crahan. “Almost four years to create this emotion and temperature, and the reward now is nothing short of salvation.”

    Tomorrow, May 17th, Slipknot will make their televised return as the musical guests on Jimmy Kimmel Live! The outdoor stage performance – set to air at 11:35PM ET on ABC – will see Slipknot demolishing the standard expectations set for late-night stages.

    On June 9th, the band’s entire performance before a sellout crowd of 90,000 fans at Germany’s Rock Am Ring Festival, will be livestreamed around the globe (in GAS territories the set will be aired on MagentaMusik 360). The livestream can be accessed via

    This summer SLIPKNOT will embark on their Knotfest Roadshow headline tour set to traverse across North America with Volbeat, Gojira, and Behemoth joining as special guests on all dates. Produced by Live Nation, the 29-city outing will kick off July 26th in Mountain View, CA at Shoreline Amphitheater and continue through September 8th where it will conclude with a performance at Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion in The Woodlands, TX (see itinerary below). Each pair of tickets purchased online for Slipknot’s 2019 tour comes with a digital copy of WE ARE NOT YOUR KIND, with further instructions available upon purchase. For tickets and more information on SLIPKNOT’s Knotfest Roadshow, visit

    SLIPKNOT shocked fans around the globe last fall with the release of the standalone single, “All Out Life.” Reaction to the track was staggering, with the official music video – also directed by M. Shawn Crahan – trending Top Ten of all videos worldwide on YouTube in its first day on the band’s official YouTube channel. Since release, “All Out Life” has already racked up over 35 million streams worldwide and 35 million YouTube views. “All Out Life” is available now at all digital service providers.


    Track Listing

    1. Insert Coin
    2. Unsainted
    3. Birth Of The Cruel
    4. Death Because Of Death
    5. Nero Forte
    6. Critical Darling
    7. Liar’s Funeral
    8. Red Flag
    9. What’s Next
    10. Spiders
    11. Orphan
    12. My Pain
    13. Not Long For This World
    14. Solway Firth

  2. justin.

    我誰什麼? 我現在知道。

    This stuff was okay in middle school but now I can’t get through a full minute.
  3. BradBradley


    Well, in that case, I’m in!
  4. Austin Blaine


    this guy grows.
  5. oakhurst


    Sounds alright. Releases just in time to begin the spooky season.
  6. justin.

    我誰什麼? 我現在知道。

  7. Drew Beringer

    @drewberinger Moderator

    fucking ready to go
  8. SkyGrowsBigger


    We are (K)not Your Kind
  9. mrenkens007

    Surprise, Surprise

    Now personally I think it's sic
    dotKev, chewbacca110 and Davjs like this.
  10. fredwordsmith

    Regular Supporter

    This might be the hookiest song they've written since Duality. That chorus is begging for arenas.
    Analog Drummer, Ryan and Supernova like this.
  11. Supernova

    Prayers/Triangles Prestigious

    First listen and I’m in. Yes huge chorus. Breakdown is a bit unique for them and I dig it. Weinberg’s drumming is superb(from this amateur’s ears). Song may not “hit” quite as hard as I would like it to; at least on the speakers I was listening to it on. The intricacies of everything sound good in the mix.
    Nolessthanblink likes this.
  12. foomanfat


    Between this and the last album, they're two for two on catching my interest with the first single and losing me with the second.
    Ryan likes this.
  13. Drew Beringer May 16, 2019
    (Last edited: May 16, 2019)
    Drew Beringer

    @drewberinger Moderator

    this song is one of the best songs they've ever made from a technical and production standpoint
  14. Ryan

    Might be Spider-Man...

    Can't believe the hate they're getting. Facts on facts; Slipknot have ALWAYS written pop songs disguised as metal songs.
  15. Ryan

    Might be Spider-Man...

    Their last album is great tbh. Spun it awhile ago, and I love it more.
    chewbacca110 likes this.
  16. foomanfat May 16, 2019
    (Last edited: May 16, 2019)


    I'll have to give it another listen.

    EDIT: Yep, still not for me. The Negative One is the only exception.
  17. Nolessthanblink

    Are You Watching Closely?

    Aov? That verse is just driving man....
    chewbacca110 likes this.
  18. cosmickid

    Composer, but never composed.

    Weird that they're pushing All Out Life (playing it on Kimmel plus dedicated a whole paragraph of this press release to it) and it's not and the album?
  19. fredwordsmith

    Regular Supporter

    They're probably still pushing it because it's a goddamn BANGER. One of the best songs in their catalog for my money.

    Having said that, this grows on me more with each listen and I bet this is what they play on the TV performance. Don't they usually record 4-5 songs for web stuff?
  20. josh-

    Twitter: @joshcaraballin

    The haters are just louder brother. This #1 trending on YouTube.
  21. Davjs


  22. Troy David


    Davjs likes this.
  23. joey-wan kenobi

    Happiness is a warm gun mama

    ....w/out head banging?
    DeRRek, Davjs and 333 GANG like this.
  24. cosmickid

    Composer, but never composed.

    Okay but wise? Lol
  25. Ryan

    Might be Spider-Man...

    Its just funny because from the get go, literally the song that started them "Wait and Bleed" is a fucking pop song.