Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Rediscovering the "scene"

Discussion in 'Music Forum' started by Spenny, Feb 2, 2018.

1. Spenny

Regular

Hey everyone. A bit of a random topic, but I've been really wanting to try and rediscover some of the music I've missed over the past seven or eight years. After I graduated from high school, my music tastes shifted towards more pop/pop rock/indie rock music and I slowly stopped listening to music of what I did in high school. I want to take a trip back and catch up on some of the awesome new bands that have sprouted up since then, or the old classics that have put out good new music in the ensuing years.

Any recommendations in the pop-punk, post hardcore, emo, metalcore, pop rock, etc. space would be appreciated. Or even if you have a Spotify playlist of some great music you think I might dig, feel free to share the link. I'm gonna be read to filth for this, but to give you an idea of some of the stuff I really dug, a few examples:

last.fm scrobbles from the year 2009: Spennynub’s Library — Users at Last.fm

Spotify playlist of some jams from back in the day that I really enjoyed (with some songs creeping into the more recent years):

Thanks in advance for any help!

2. Spenny

Regular

Bumping this back up. Been listening to a lot of old Anberlin and Valencia today and it’s making me yearn for music I might have missed haha.

3. Kingjohn_654

Longtime Sunshine Prestigious

Listen to PUP

Spenny and leerkat like this.
  4. TomG

Trusted Supporter

Tiny Moving Parts new album, Swell, is awesome.

Spenny likes this.
  5. beachdude

I'm not brave Prestigious

Have you heard Envy On the Coast's new EP from last year, Ritual? It seems like you're into them from your playlist, and imo that EP was a great comeback.

Spenny likes this.
  6. Kennedy

loomasleep.bandcamp.com Prestigious