Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Real Friends Announce New Album

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Melody Bot, Jun 18, 2018.

  1. Melody Bot

    Your friendly little forum bot. Staff Member

    This article has been imported from for discussion. All of the forum rules still apply.

    Real Friends will release their new album, Composure, on July 13th. They’ve also debuted the new song “Smiling on the Surface” and pre-orders are now up.

    Track Listing

    1. Me First
    2. Stand Steady
    3. From The Outside
    4. Smiling On The Surface
    5. Hear What You Want
    6. Unconditional Love
    7. Composure
    8. Get By
    9. Ripcord
    10. Take A Hint

  2. Blake Solomon

    Mr. Emeritus Prestigious

    the last song had a heck of a hook. finally!
  3. simplejack

    I wish I could say something but silence is fine.

    Kingfisher, is that you?

    Jokes aside, I really like this new poppy and positive-minded direction. Lyrics are getting better too, wondering if Kyle's still writing them.
  4. SmithBerryCrunch

    Trusted Prestigious

    All the new songs have been great. Looking forward to the rest. Like the short roll out too.
  5. tyramail

    Trusted Supporter

    I am so pumped. Love that cover art.
  6. Blake Solomon

    Mr. Emeritus Prestigious

    this is the most they've sounded like the starting line and that is a good thing. im officially excited for this record.
    ramomcferno and LCT Music like this.
  7. shogunTORTOISE


    Sounds a lot like Starting Line and I don't mind that at all.
    LCT Music likes this.
  8. Honeymagnolia

    Regular Supporter

    3/3. Awesome songs. Love this new direction.

    Dan loves the Starting Line so he will love the comparisons.
    ilikedesigning and LCT Music like this.
  9. CMilliken


    Stoked for this one!
  10. AlwaysEvolving21

    Trusted Supporter

    Ya, the more I listen to this the more it reminds me of The Starting Line's Based On A True Story.
    LCT Music likes this.
  11. This record is so dope
  12. zachmacD


    I haven’t liked a pop punk record in a long time. This sound makes me happy
  13. Matt Metzler

    Space Cadet Prestigious

    Wow this rules, can’t wait for the full album. And it’s less than a month away, holy crap!
  14. bristphili


    i can't lie, and i don't want to be overly negative. i like this band and wish them all success, but all their lyrics lately just cringe me right out
  15. Hazelnutsack


  16. Matt Metzler

    Space Cadet Prestigious

    Lately? Their lyrics used to be SO much worse.
    CMilliken and LCT Music like this.
  17. Helloelloallo

    Trusted Supporter

    Always interested to hear a new perspective. What aspects or lines of the new songs do you not like?
  18. jorbjorb

    7 rings

    I listened to this next to TSL and TSL is way better.
    parkerxcore, Jason Tate and noKings like this.
  19. Jared Luttrell


    It's not TSL but I'll happily take new music in that vein.
  20. bristphili


    Thinking about it you're right, their lyrics did used to be a lot worse. i used to be a big fan of the band and their earlier work. that 'lately my dog's the only one around that listens to my problems' line was always pretty unbearable though.

    I don't know what it is, and i'm not trying to spread negativity towards the band, i support them. i think maybe they're just one of those bands I've grown out of. i just don't think they're trying much new. Which is cool as they're one of the best at what they do and have a fanbase that enjoy every release, i'm just not sure they're my thing any more
    Helloelloallo likes this.
  21. parkerxcore

    Somebody's gonna miss us Supporter

    I truly don't understand TSL comparison but it's good nonetheless.
    CMilliken likes this.
  22. LCT Music

    Newbie Supporter

    The latest song is the first time I’ve hearf them sound similar to TSL, I think it’s way better than From the Outside.
  23. Histrionics


    These new songs are real good. Can't wait for the album