Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Phoebe Bridgers Announces ‘The Copycat Killer’ EP

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Melody Bot, Nov 10, 2020.

  1. Melody Bot

    Your friendly little forum bot. Staff Member

    This article has been imported from for discussion. All of the forum rules still apply.

    Phoebe Bridgers will be releasing The Copycat Killer EP on November 20th. It features four new orchestral reworking of songs from her latest album, Punisher. Today she’s shared the new version of “Kyoto” and pre-orders are now up.

    Track Listing

    1. Kyoto
    2. Savior Complex
    3. Chinese Satellite
    4. Punisher

    Press Release

    Phoebe Bridgers has announced her new EP Copycat Killer to be released November 20 via Dead Oceans. Copycat Killer will feature all new recordings of songs from her critically acclaimed album Punisher which came out earlier this year. 
    These versions of the songs were recorded with GRAMMY Award winning arranger and string player Rob Moose who has also arranged and recorded strings for top artists such as Bon Iver, Paul Simon, Alabama Shakes, John Legend, Taylor Swift, Sara Bareilles, The Killers, Kesha, Moses Sumney, FKA Twigs, Haim, Jose Gonzalez, and Regina Spektor, and more.
    Vinyl copies will be available initially exclusively Rough Trade. Punisher has been listed in the Rough Trade Record Stores “Albums Of The Year” list at #2. 

    Not all embedded content is displayed here. You can view the original to see embedded videos, tweets, etc.
  2. The_Pioneer


    I really love this album and it will probably end up in my top 5, but this isn’t doing a whole lot for me. It sounds like they’re using the original vocal stems and I would’ve loved to see a little more variation in versions. Maybe the other songs might turn out cool though!
    SAB22 likes this.
  3. SAB22 Prestigious

    you said exactly what I was thinking- does not sound like the vocals flow over the music.
  4. TJ Wells

    Trusted Prestigious

    Dammit, I was really hoping this was a covers EP.
  5. thecobrakais


    i actually really love it. I just look at these as a bonus to what we already got, which was amazing. Also, that video is giving me all the Winamp visualizer feels. :-)
  6. Frank Lapidus

    Regular Supporter

    Literally took the words out of my mouth. One look at the visualizer and all the sudden I am sipping on a Mountain Dew, trying to beat the Water Temple on Ocarina of Time and listening to Intergalactic by the Beastie Boys on my Compaq Presario.
  7. mrenkens007

    Surprise, Surprise Prestigious

  8. Bartek T.

    D'oh! Prestigious

    Not sure if I got that right - but these vocals here are new, just listen do the choruses and outro, which originally are loud and open, whereas here it's mostly falsetto. I know the verses sound pretty much the same, but they're quite fast, there's not that much space to explore different takes (like in the more sparse line with "25 felkt like flying" for example). To me it is still an awesome bonus, plus Rob Moose should really get some credits for his playing, well-deserved ;D
  9. The_Pioneer


    Yea, you’re right, these are definitely new, my bad. I guess I just wish they differentiated them a bit more from the originals.
    Bartek T. likes this.
  10. Bartek T.

    D'oh! Prestigious

    I think it's because of the same tempo in the verses, where it's just quiter in some parts, but pretty much sameish still, that's agreed ;D though I do appreciate the strings arrangement on its own, but we'll see as for the rest - I think other tunes might be able to to let out a bit more experimentation on the vocal performances.