Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Matt Berninger - Serpentine Prison (October 16, 2020) Album

Discussion in 'Music Forum' started by username, May 19, 2020.

  1. username

    hey you lil piss baby

    Debut solo album from The National frontman. Produced by Booker T. Jones. First single:

  2. song is very good
  3. Jim

    Trusted Supporter

  4. Rowan5215

    An inconsequential shift as the continents drift.

    wish I could live inside this man's voice
    coleslawed likes this.
  5. username

    hey you lil piss baby

    Record out October 2
    jordalsh likes this.
  6. phaynes12

    playing in the band Supporter

  7. Steve_JustAGuy


    Here for it.
  8. phaynes12

    playing in the band Supporter

    booker t producing is WILD
  9. Carrow

    Japanese Bonus Track

    Announcement four and a half months out? Hmm, don't like that. Song is great though!
    Fletchaaa likes this.
  10. smowashere


    Excited to hear this!
  11. let’s go
  12. contra11mundum

    I hate spoilers. Supporter

    Chances of me adoring this record are very high
  13. username

    hey you lil piss baby

    Like this song but I thought this would sound a bit further away from The National.
    smowashere likes this.
  14. I felt this but also I couldn't properly imagine something with his voice on it that didn't sound like The National (that wasn't El Vy which is an album I don't remember much tbh)
  15. contra11mundum

    I hate spoilers. Supporter

    Holy shit I completely forgot about that album
  16. username

    hey you lil piss baby

    Yeah, that was the second part of what I was thinking. Matt's voice is just inextricable from The National. With that EL VY album, I really feel like those songs couldn't really exist as The National songs (especially not in 2015 before we had stuff like "Where Is Her Head," "The System..." and "Turtleneck"). Still, very curious to see what else is gonna be up with this album and I'll be just as satisfied if it sounds like a collection of stripped down The National tracks.
    wisdomfordebris likes this.
  17. Barresi

    Spooky Space Kook Supporter

    Hell yeah.
  18. yeah don't get me wrong I hope he goes a little off the beaten path, I'd like to be surprised. but the track is nice
  19. copperperson997


    four months for a rollout jfc
    the next single isn't coming out until August!
  20. Fletchaaa

    Regular Supporter

    Hope I don't forget about this I really like the single, what a ridiculously long rollout though
  21. copperperson997


    Very daniel lanois
    Fletchaaa likes this.
  22. username

    hey you lil piss baby

    It’s good. Feels a bit more removed from The National than the other single too.
  23. lovely song
  24. Importer/Exporter Jul 17, 2020
    (Last edited: Oct 2, 2020)

    Voice of Voices Supporter

    Sounds so much like The Crane Wife lol
    navidson likes this.
  25. username

    hey you lil piss baby

    Comes out on the 16th now

    1. My Eyes Are T-Shirts (2:40)
    2. Distant Axis (4:25)
    3. One More Second (5:23)
    4. Loved So Little (4:55)
    5. Silver Springs (3:54)
    6. Oh Dearie (3:16)
    7. Take Me Out Of Town (4:12)
    8. Collar Of Your Shirt (5:14)
    9. All For Nothing (3:06)
    10. Serpentine Prison (4:32)

    Deluxe LP has another 6 tracks

    Side C
    1. European Son
    2. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
    3. In Spite Of Me

    Side D
    4. Big Bird
    5. Let It Be
    6. The End
    Carrow, Jim and jordalsh like this.