Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Language Thread

Discussion in 'General Forum' started by Zoshchenko, Sep 6, 2016.

1. Zoshchenko

Trusted Supporter

Just had a thought: "I wonder what languages people here know/speak," so I decided to create a thread to ask. Maybe people could have conversations here in other languages? Or talk about wanting to learn a language or the process of learning a language? Share tips or resources?

Who knows!!

My native language is English, but I've been learning Russian for four years as of today. It was one of my majors in college and I learned a lot (reached Advanced based on ACTFL guidelines), though I spent all summer and my last semester of college doing very little with Russian, so I'm definitely feeling the pain of neglect, thus I've been doing a lot lately in Russian in order to build back up to my former level.

I'm curious to hear about you all and what languages you know or want to know!

AelNire likes this.
  2. Dominick

Prestigious Prestigious

My Spanish is passable due to ten years of taking it in school. I know some Italian. I'd like to learn Swahili, Russian and German.

3. iCarly Rae Jepsen

run away with me Platinum

I took French in middle school and high school and still retain a conversational amount

I've briefly considered learning Mandarin or Farsi

4. ChaseTx

Big hat enthusiast Prestigious

I can speak Spanish if you talk to me very slowly and repeat lots of things

Kingjohn_654 likes this.
  5. finnyscott

I'm from New York. No, not the city.

I'm raising this thread from the dead because I'm trying to teach myself German and the grammar is quite literally killing me (but I secretly love it). Like I'm literally yelling at a flowchart about adjectival declension as I work through these exercises.