Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Equal Vision Records Release Safe & Sound Compilation

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Melody Bot, Jun 9, 2020.

  1. Melody Bot

    Your friendly little forum bot. Staff Member

    This article has been imported from for discussion. All of the forum rules still apply.

    Equal Vision Records have released Safe & Sound: An Isolation Compilation. The compilation features re-imagined and unreleased versions of songs from Saves the Day, Armor for Sleep, I The Mighty, Sleep On It, and more. The video for Saves the Day’s “Remember/Verona/Ring Pop” (ft. Lloyd Vines) is now up, the full press release and track listing is below, and you can purchase the compilation on Bandcamp and MerchNow.

    Track Listing

    1. Hail The Sun – The Stranger in Our Pictures (Re-imagined)
    2. Armor For Sleep – Basement Ghost Singing (Re-imagined)
    3. Young Culture – Theme from This is Heaven
    4. Kaonashi – Coffee & Conversation (Re-imagined)
    5. I the Mighty – Sleepwalker (Re-imagined)
    6. Sleep On It – Take Me Back (Re-imagined)
    7. Calling All Captains – Chasing Ghosts (Re-imagined)
    8. Vagrants – Clarity (Re-imagined)
    9. Nova Charisma – Misleading the Story (Re-imagined)
    10. Bars of Gold – Blue Lightning (Re-imagined)
    11. As Cities Burn – Live Convinced (Re-Imagined)
    12. Saves the Day – Remember/Verona/Ring Pop (Ft. Lloyd Vines)

    Press Release

    Today, Albany, NY label Equal Vision Records have released Safe & Sound: An Isolation Compilation as a way to give back to their artists. The compilation features re-imagined and exclusive versions of songs from bands on the label including long-time staples like Saves The Day, Armor For Sleep, and I The Mighty, and newer acts like Young Culture, Sleep On It, and Vagrants. Released digitally via Bandcamp, Equal Vision Records will be giving 100% of the sale proceeds to bands who contributed to the compilation, many of whom's tour schedules were canceled due to the ongoing pandemic.
    On the release, Equal Vision Records label manager Dan Sandshaw stated:
    “When the pandemic hit, we quickly identified a couple of goals. First, we wanted to find a way to give our bands some direct relief while all tours were grounded. Second, we set out to create a compilation to document the unprecedented times we are all living in. Both goals were accomplished and I’m proud of what our bands and team were able to create.”
    The compilation kicks off with Hail The Sun providing an acoustic version of “The Stranger In Our Pictures”, a long-time fan favorite of the band’s stripped-down performances now recorded for the first time. Armor For Sleep unleash a haunting version of 2005’s “Basement Ghost Singing”, while emo mathcore act Kaonashi change things up on an acoustic rendition of “Coffee & Conversation” with August Axcelson (bass) and Alex Hallquist (guitar) taking over vocal duties. Not every song on the 12 track compilation brings a stripped-down approach, however. Bars Of Gold (members of Bear Vs. Shark) take an eclectic, tropical-infused manner on “Blue Lightning”, originally appearing on the band’s 2013 album, Wheels. Rounding out the compilation is Saves The Day who turned three songs from their 2013 self-titled album -  "Remember", "Verona", and "Ring Pop" - into a totally new, yet still recognizable ten-minute medley featuring contributions from hip-hop artist Lloyd Vines. In celebration, the band has also released a music video for the medley which you can view here now.

    Not all embedded content is displayed here. You can view the original to see embedded videos, tweets, etc.
  2. RaginCajun


    It’s great hearing Armor For Sleep again after all these years!
    Bartek T. likes this.
  3. Bartek T.

    D'oh! Prestigious

    Exactly! Is it newly recorded though?