Remove ads, unlock a dark mode theme, and get other perks by upgrading your account. Experience the website the way it's meant to be.

Underoath Offer Feelings and Stances on Christianity

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Melody Bot, Jul 24, 2018.

1. Melody Bot

Your friendly little forum bot. Staff Member

2. justin.

請叫我賴總統 Supporter

What Aaron states is on point.

3. Brent

Trusted Prestigious

Feel like something like this comes out monthly.

Kingjohn_654 likes this.
  4. AshlandATeam

Trusted

As a pastor, I fully endorse everything both dudes are saying here (which is very sad. In my opinion).

As a lover of tattoos, I think those keys on Aaron's throat are just the most awkwardly placed things ever.

5. Saephon

Regular

I can relate to and respect what both of them say in the video. Here's my two cents though:

I was raised Catholic. Even went to a prestigious Catholic high school, where I received a very good education. But around that time I began to question the Church's views on many things (gay marriage, abortion, women's rights) and also experienced a lot of nastiness at the hands of other Christians. It wasn't long before I eventually became agnostic, and then completely atheist shortly after. The hypocrisy of Catholic leadership as well as its followers pushed me away, and made me question whether any of it was true.

Aaron speaks of how we need to not place so much emphasis on organization and "the rules", and more on "the reason". It's clear he still believes in Christ personally, but does not give blind devotion to the Church as a structure of power. Here's my problem with that: when you're raised Christian, everything you know and believe about Jesus Christ comes from the Church. It sounds really moderate and pleasant and compromising to say that you believe in Christ but don't blindly obey the Church authority, but all of that, ALL OF THAT, comes from thousands of years of fallible, man-made authority.